Crypto-teas

The plan is to get back to this. A combination of finals and La Boheme has made it impossible to post anything. If I’m not wrong a lot of tea bloggers are also students, so I imagine there is a drought at this point across many a tea buff’s RSS feed. But I have a lot of plans for this blog! Such as:

1. Another tea photoshoot with candied ginger and a tieguanyin that I am scared to brew.

2. An overall overhaul of the layout and appearance of this blog. This includes tagging everything–it is damned embarrassing that I am in library school and do not generate even the most skeletal metadata. Also, the appearance, which, I think, gives off the feel of a classroom or tea-themed hospital.

3. Something very long and rambly and sad, which may either capture my experience of the years 2011-2012 or turn into a washed up kid squinting at tea leaves to make them look like something other than plants.

4. A post about curation, because I said I would. Curation + tea + the opportunity to rant about misappropriated words? Why wouldn’t I write that?

Four things, which I swear to deliver soon or as soon as they are of the quality I expect to deliver. Meanwhile, look at what I said to Jei D. Marcade in The Silverfish last month.

Today the tea is dong ding, again, which I find is a way to invigorate myself on those days when I need invigorating but don’t need to be kicked in the face. As for the chocolate smell some people identify, I agree that as far as a roast goes, Dong Ding is one of the classier ones. Rather than the wild flavors of other roasted oolongs, this one somehow comes out with a little cleaner, brighter taste. It tastes dark and heavy, but not because it is…how do I say this? Well, some oolongs taste like wild animals, creatures whose motivations and secret dreamings are unknowable because they are too base for us. The earthy or grassy or darkly roasted varieties give me this sensation. And although the roast of Dong Ding also tastes “dark,” even though it isn’t really “dark,” it isn’t the same kind of mysteriousness. It’s a little colder, I might say. The difference between navy and royal blue (the introduction of color into a description of tea flavors might give you an indication as to why I do not review people’s teas). And some little fast pictures:

20130312-075831.jpg

20130312-075856.jpg

This entry was posted in Tea Thoughts and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

