How the teapot turned out

In case you were wondering what happened to this piece of work (holy hyperlinks Batman!), I used it this morning after soaking it in tea for a solid 24 hours.

It’s all right! Some serious construction flaws vis a vis the lid, which is off center and asymmetrical. Am I bugging? Not for ten dollars. It is real and it smells good. I give it full marks, and I attribute the terrible tea I made today to questionable water. I would describe the flavor as fuzzy? Not exactly what you want to start off on.

Water can be bad, that is to say, it can be bad for tea. I was actually going to blog about water quality after making this horrible pot. But this blog actually delivers a pretty lengthy discussion about the nature of water and tea, and says basically everything I wanted to. I am not special! Then, an argument in the blog’s comments about whether it is better to brew your tea at 84 degrees Celsius or 86. Good work, team!

I also bought a new tea a few weeks ago, which I have yet to identify beyond it being a Taiwanese oolong grown at a slightly lower altitude than benshan cha, according to the shop owner, who completely knows her stuff and who I intend to visit again, but who assumed that I also completely know my stuff and so didn’t bother to explain much about it to me.

20120828-175907.jpg

20120828-180003.jpg

20120828-180012.jpg

Look at those leaves, you guys. Look! At! Them! This is a call for both an identification and admiration. Let something someone else put on the Internet make your day, for once.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to How the teapot turned out

  1. Pingback: A tea marathon! | tuochadoucha

Leave a Reply

