An Introduction

Obviously there’s no need to explain what the blog is about, so let me instead explain what it is not about. 

This blog is not a tea review blog. For one thing, there are plenty of tea review blogs out there, and for another, I feel like tea review blogs by their nature steal the joy of discovering delicious new tea through exploration from their readers. I don’t read them. I like finding out my own that something is terrible. 

Why, you may be wondering, am I qualified to wax eloquent on the thousand year old beverage that is the most widely consumed in the world? Answers below!

1. I have been drinking tea my entire life, since I was not allowed to have coffee. Until recently I believed all coffee tasted like dirt anyway. 

2. Combine my loathing of coffee with the fact that I just graduated with a bachelor’s degree in three years rather than four. As you may be able to guess, I needed some source of caffeine that was legal and cheap. This is when I got started brewing big fat pots of puerh that would keep me up all night while I ranted about the Chinese art market at the turn of the 20th century, which brings me to my next point:

3. My bachelor’s degree was in Chinese art history, which gives me the unique ability to find something to say about anything. I started this blog with the hope that I could write about tea as a cultural phenomenon. I’ll get it into it more later, but I don’t think it’s a stretch by any means to say that of all the commodities that circulate the globe, tea is the most representative of how global power has been allocated and how cultures have interacted with one another. 

I don’t want to give too much of the future posts away. Just know that I have a backlog and that I’m coming for you. 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

